Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all,
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.
Thanks all.

Your ethics.....

• 16-11-2016 8:21pm
    Registered Users Posts: 16,106 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

How do you work out if something is right or wrong?

I love reading about ethics. I studied it in college and it can provide some interesting thought experiments. The problem with most ethical theories is implementing them in real life.

Here's an example. There's a theory called utilitarianism. It basically means that you weight up the good and bad that an action causes and if the good outweighs the bad then it's a good action. The problem is when you're in a situation that requires a decision quickly you can't start totting up a list. And sometimes it requires you to do a bad thing (like murder someone for an inheritance so you could save multiple other people). It is really good for making laws. You set out some rights and then make laws around them. So smoking in a creche is bad because it affects children but smoking outside by yourself is ok because to ban it would restrict your freedom (which is a right you have). Most systems of laws in the western world are based on a system like this.